NO RECOVERY, NO FEE

Call 866.558.9151

FREE CONFIDENTIAL CONSULTATION

 CALL, TEXT OR CHAT- WE’RE EASY TO TALK TO!

866.558.9151

local 504.834.4000

Survey of Louisiana Work Related Fatalities

NUMBER OF LOUISIANA FATALITIES BY AGE AND GENDER

According to an October 22, 2013 United States Department of Labor, Survey of Louisiana Occupational Fatalities, in 2012, Louisiana had 106 occupational fatalities. Of the 106, 10 of the victims were between the ages of 20 and 24, 28 between the ages of 25 and 34, 23 between the ages of 35 and 44, 19 between the ages of 45 and 54 and 20 between the ages of 55 and 64. 3 were 65 years and over.

TYPES OF LOUISIANA WORKPLACE FATALITIES BY INDUSTRY

Of the 106 fatalities, 16 involved violence and other injures by persons or animals, 47 involved transportation incidents (including 25 roadway incidents involving motorized land vehicles), 5 fire and explosions, 13 falls, slips, trips, 11 exposure to harmful substances or environments and 14 contact with objects and equipment.

 PROBLEMS FACING WIDOWS, DEPENDENTS AND PARENTS

Louisiana workers compensation insurers are not always paying the right beneficiaries and may even try to avoid paying funeral expenses. Louisiana Workers Compensation Death Benefits provide payment to the deceased employee’s dependents, including a $7,500 funeral benefit.

Dependents are paid according to this schedule:

• Widower: 32 ½ % of employee’s average weekly wage

• Widow and One Child: 46 ¼ % of employee’s average weekly wage

• Widow and Two Children: 65% of employee’s average weekly wage

If the deceased employee has no dependents, the surviving parents are paid $75,000 each. Please note that the “dependents” may even include the deceased worker’s live in girlfriend. In the 2007 case of Russell v. House of Raeford Farms of Louisiana, Inc., the live in girlfriend of an employee killed on the job was entitled to death benefits, attorney fees and penalties by establishing dependency.

Surviving spouses are paid the benefit until remarriage (at which point a lump sum of two years is paid) or death, while dependent children are paid the benefit until the age of 18 or 23 if they are a student.

GETTING LEGAL HELP IN NEW ORLEANS AND BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA

Charles Lavis Jr has been handing claims for widows, dependents and surviving parents since 1995. Talk to an experienced New Orleans personal injury attorney: the offices of Charles Lavis can help you figure out how to put together a personal injury case and seek compensation for the costs and hardships you face. You can also view Lavis Law videos at https://plus.google.com/+LavisLawFirmNewOrleans/videos and our Louisiana Workers Compensation Lawyer job injury blogs at www.louisianajobinjurylawblog.com. Charles is easy to talk to!.

Source: 2012 Louisiana Worker Fatalities.pdf

Sitemap

Copyright © 2019, Lavis Law Firm. All rights reserved