2021-2022 New Orleans Hit & Run Accidents- This Number Will Surprise You
- Hit and Run Accidents in New Orleans – Interactive Map
- Hit and Run New Orleans Law and Fine
- Hit and Run Criminal Charge, Penalties, Fines, and Prison Sentences
- What Should I Do After a Hit and Run Accident?
- Does My Insurance Cover a Hit and Run Accident?
- Does My Insurance Cover a Miss & Run Accident?
Of the 21,563 New Orleans Car Accidents through December 31, 2021, 7,876 are classified as Hit & Runs. 37% of all reported New Orleans Car Accidents are Hit & Run accidents.
Hit and run in Louisiana is widespread as well with projected 2021 statewide total hit and run crashes of about 24,634 comprised of 19,795 property damage only, 4,839 injury and 76 fatal hit and run crashes.
There are several things hit and run victims can do immediately after the accident to improve the outcome:
- taking photos of vehicles involved and the accident scene,
- identify witnesses,
- call the police,
- look for crime or other video cameras, and
- secure a copy of the videos
If you suffered personal injuries or property damage in a hit-and-run car accident, you may be facing important legal deadlines. Let Lavis Law Firm – a car accident attorney in New Orleans – discuss your hit and run claim with you immediately. If we agree to handle your case, we will do so on a contingency fee basis. No fee is owed if there is no recovery. You only pay if we win your case. For a FREE CASE REVIEW, contact a New Orleans auto accident attorney at 504-834-4000 or complete our online form.
2021-2022 HIT AND RUN ACCIDENTS IN NEW ORLEANS – AN INTERACTIVE MAP
Click onto the interactive map above and you will see the location of the hit and run accident, date of the accident, and if it was reported as a hit and run with injury. The map shows all reported hit and run accidents in New Orleans in 2020 & 2021. The orange areas are where accidents happen more frequently. If you zoom in and drag your mouse or finger over the orange dots, you will see more detail about each reported accident.
HIT AND RUN NEW ORLEANS LAW AND FINE
Sec. 154-384. – Hit and run driving.
(a) Hit and run driving is the intentional failure of the operator of a vehicle involved in or causing any accident to stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident to give his identity and to render reasonable aid.
(b)To give his identity, for the purpose of this section, shall mean that the operator of any vehicle involved in any accident shall provide his name, address, and the license number of his vehicle to witnesses present at the accident or shall report the accident to the police immediately.
(c)Whoever is convicted of hit and run driving shall be fined not less than $50.00 nor more than $300.00 or imprisoned for not less than ten days, or both.
(Code 1956, § 38-112)
HIT AND RUN LOUISIANA LAW, CRIMINAL CHARGE, PENALTIES, FINES AND PRISON SENTENCES
Louisiana Revised Statute 14:100 Hit-and-run driving provides:
A. Hit and run driving is the intentional failure of the driver of a vehicle involved in or causing any accident, to stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident, to give his identity, and to render reasonable aid.
B. For the purpose of this Section:
(1) “To give his identity”, means that the driver of any vehicle involved in any accident shall give his name, address, and the license number of his vehicle, or shall report the accident to the police.
(2) “Serious bodily injury” means bodily injury which involves unconsciousness, extreme physical pain, or protracted and obvious disfigurement, or protracted loss or impairment of the function of a bodily member, organ, or mental faculty, or a substantial risk of death.
(3) “Vehicle” includes a watercraft.
(4) “Accident” means an incident or event resulting in damage to property or injury to person.
C.(1)(a) Whoever commits the crime of hit-and-run driving where there is no death or serious bodily injury shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned for not more than six months, or both.
(b) Whoever commits the crime of hit-and-run driving where there is no death or serious bodily injury shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars, imprisoned for not less than ten days nor more than six months, or both when: (i) there is evidence that the vehicle operator consumed alcohol or used drugs or a controlled dangerous substance prior to the accident; (ii) the consumption of the alcohol, drugs, or a controlled dangerous substance contributed to the accident; and (iii) the driver failed to stop, give his identity, or render aid with the knowledge that his actions could affect an actual or potential present, past, or future criminal investigation or proceeding.
(2) Whoever commits the crime of hit-and-run driving, when death or serious bodily injury is a direct result of the accident and when the driver knew or should have known that death or serious bodily injury has occurred, shall be fined not more than five thousand dollars or imprisoned with or without hard labor for not more than ten years, or both.
(3) Whoever commits the crime of hit-and-run driving where all of the following conditions are met shall be imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not less than five years nor more than twenty years:
(a) Death or serious bodily injury is a direct result of the accident.
(b) The driver knew or must have known that the vehicle he was operating was involved in an accident or that his operation of the vehicle was the direct cause of an accident.
(c) The driver had been previously convicted of any of the following:
(i) A violation of R.S. 14:98, or a law or an ordinance of any state or political subdivision prohibiting operation of any vehicle or means of transportation or conveyance while intoxicated, impaired, or while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any controlled dangerous substance on two or more occasions within ten years of this offense.
(ii) A violation of R.S. 14:32.1-vehicular homicide.
(iii) A violation of R.S. 14:39.1-vehicular negligent injuring.
(iv) A violation of R.S. 14:39.2-first degree vehicular negligent injuring.
Amended by Acts 1968, No. 647, §1. Acts 1988, No. 671, §1; Acts 1997, No. 561, §1; Acts 1999, No. 1103, §1; Acts 2003, No. 159, §1.
WHAT SHOULD I DO AFTER A HIT AND RUN ACCIDENT?
The more information you can gather to provide to the police, the better. Try to:
- Get the make, model and color of the car;
- Look for any witnesses and get their information;
- Look for any disinterested witnesses as this may help with your insurance claim.
- Take pictures of the hit and run car, if possible, and the accident scene;
- Look for any traffic enforcement cameras or crime cameras so that the video can be timely subpoenaed;
- Take photos of your car for your insurance company;
- Call the police and file an accident report including the names of any witnesses and other applicable information you have gathered;
DOES MY INSURANCE COVER A HIT AND RUN ACCIDENT?
Your policy may have these coverages to pay for your property damage and injuries:
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage pays benefits to you if your car is hit by a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to pay for the full amount of your injuries or property damage. If you have Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist coverage, any bodily injury you or an occupant of your vehicle suffers due to an accident caused by another driver is covered under this policy. Hit-and-run drivers may be classified as uninsured motorists, but it helps if there is a disinterested witness to the accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist economic-only coverage is the same as uninsured motorist coverage except that it covers only the actual costs of injuries to you and the occupants of your vehicle. Pain and suffering are not included under this coverage.227,8763420
Additional reviews and the company response can be found here .
If you are involved in a Hurricane Ida Wind Damage, Fire or other insurance claim with Americans Insurance Company and your claim has been denied or delayed, an experienced property damage insurance lawyer can ensure your rights are protected when filing an insurance claim for Structure, Other Structures, Loss of Use, Debris Removal, Mold Coverage and Contents. We care about your best interests and stand in your corner.
For more information about car insurance claims, call or email us today.
Uninsured/Underinsured motorist property damage coverage provides for repairs to your vehicle if you are in an accident with an uninsured driver. A $250 deductible applies under this coverage, and with liability coverage, your recovery is limited to $25,000 or the actual cash value of the vehicle, whichever is less. You can purchase a higher recovery limit if you choose. If your policy includes collision insurance, this coverage is not available.
Collision coverage pays for damage to your car that results from an accident. You can collect under your own collision coverage, whether or not you were at fault. Collision coverage is always sold with a deductible.
Medical payments coverage pays for medical expenses for a designated period of time following the accident, up to your policy’s dollar limits, and it includes funeral expenses. Payments are made regardless of who is to blame for the accident. Medical payments cover you, your family members, and other passengers in your car.
DOES MY INSURANCE COVER A MISS & RUN ACCIDENT?
Closely related to the hit and run accident is the “Miss & Run Accident” where a phantom vehicle causes injury, death, or property damage without making physical contact and leaves the accident scene. For example, car A (the Phantom Vehicle”) runs car B off the road without making contact.
To recovery under uninsured motorist, persons injured in car B will have to show by an independent and disinterested witness, that the injury was the result of the actions of the driver of another vehicle whose identity is unknown or who is uninsured or underinsured.
CAN MY INSURANCE RAISE MY RATES, CANCEL ME OR FAIL TO RENEW MY POLICY IF I USE MY UNDERINSURED MOTORIST IN AN ACCIDENT WHERE I AM NOT AT FAULT?
Louisiana R.S. 22:1284 states:
A. No insurer shall increase the rate, increase or add a surcharge, cancel, or fail to renew any policy of motor vehicle insurance when such action is based on consideration of one or more nonfault incidents.
B. In this Section, “nonfault incident” means an accident, collision, or other incident involving a vehicle covered by a policy issued by the insurer in which the driver of the insured vehicle was not at fault, regardless of whether the incident was reported to any law enforcement agency.
If you suffered personal injuries or property damage in a hit and run car accident and need help with exploring hit and run insurance coverage and any applicable options, you may be facing important legal and practical deadlines. Lavis Law Firm – Personal Injury & Accident Attorney will discuss your hit and run claim with you immediately. If we agree to handle your case, we will do so on a contingency fee basis. No fee is owed if there is no recovery. You only pay if we win your case. For a FREE CASE REVIEW, contact a New Orleans auto accident attorney at 504-834-4000 or complete our online form below.
Highly Rated New Orleans Car Repair Shops
1. Fradella’s Collision Centers
4728 Rye St.
Metairie, LA 70006
2. California Customs Collision Center
1424 Manhattan Blvd
Harvey, LA 70058
3. A Vargas-Body Shop
3317 Magazine St.
New Orleans, LA 70115
4. Automasters Automotive
3801 Paris Rd.
Chalmette, LA 70043
5. Chamblis Body Shop
3141 Tchoupitoulas St.
New Orleans, LA 70115
6. Clean Fleet Auto Body
4432 Hearst St.
Metairie, LA 70001
7. Rusich Detail Auto Body-Paint
2520 Delaware Ave.
Kenner, LA 70062
8. NOLA Collision Center (Formerly Royal Collision Center)
3333 N I-10 Service Rd W.
Metairie, LA 70002
- We have no affiliation with these companies. They happen to be highly rated on Yelp and Google.